Henrik Stenson Wins Race to Dubai

Henrik StensonHenrik Stenson won the Race to Dubai title for the second time in 4 years on Sunday, and also Matthew Fitzpatrick claimed the largest victory of his brief job at the Globe Tour Champion.

Fourth-ranked Stenson fired a 7-under 65 in the final round in Dubai to remain in advance of his opponents in the year-long race. The Swede earned a benefit of $1.25 million as the European Scenic tour’s leading gamer.

The 40-year-old Stenson, who additionally won the Race to Dubai in 2013, ended Sunday on 12-under 276 in a four-way connection for ninth, that included Rory McIlroy (65).

Stenson’s closest competitor in the race this year, Masters champion Danny Willett, stayed 2nd after ending up tied for 50th in the event.

Fitzpatrick, who earned his card specifically 2 years ago, shot a final-round 67 to end up on 17-under 271. The 22-year-old Englishman ended up one ahead of compatriot Tyrrell Hatton (68), who had a bogey on the last opening.

South African Charl Schwartzel (67) was two shots better behind in third.